You’re here! You’re here!

I love it when company stops by on an ordinary day!  While you’re visiting, you might enjoy learning a few insider secrets from my Super Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: What’s next in Lisa Wingate books?

A:  Before We Were Yours is officially a New York Times Hardcover Bestseller, a USA TODAY Bestseller, and a People magazine People Pick! Foreign editions are hitting the shelves in fourteen countries and Parade magazine called the book “One of the summer’s best reads.” It’s been an exciting summer so far and I’m incredibly grateful to the readers and media outlets who have supported this book. If you’re visiting my cyber porch for the first time be sure to sign up for the newsletter, so you’ll know about upcoming giveaways and news!

“For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale—an engrossing new novel, inspired by a true story. Before We Were Yours brilliantly fictionalizes and brings to life one of America’s most notorious scandals.”

Q: What’s the stunning real-life history behind Before We Were Yours?

From the 1920s through 1950, thousands of children of single mothers and poverty-stricken parents were taken away — sometimes even quietly whisked off front porches or from hospital maternity wards — by the Tennessee Children’s Home Society and its Memphis branch director, Georgia Tann. While heartbroken birth mothers searched for their stolen sons and daughters, the children were often kept in unlicensed boarding facilities and given new names and histories before being advertised for adoption to families who could afford to pay. Before We Were Yours tells the stories of the children, through twelve-year-old Rill Foss, stolen from her family’s Mississippi River shantyboat with her four young siblings and held in an orphan house where uncertainty and danger wait around every corner. Check out the Untold Story blog for snippets of the fascinating history behind the novel. If you’re reading with your book club, click here for the beautiful digital book club kit from Random House.

georgiatannpressschimitaradplayballgeorgewebres

Photo courtesy of Preservation and 

Special Collections Department, 

University Libraries, University of Memphis

 “Wingate is a master-storyteller, and you’ll find yourself pulled along as she reveals the wake of terror and heartache that is Georgia Tann’s legacy.”                   — Parade magazine

 

Q: What’s on shelves now?

Novels filled with North Carolina history and mystery. If you haven’t enjoyed The Carolina Collection yet, I hope you will!

Click on the book covers below to read Sneak Peek Chapters:

July 2013
May 2015
Sept 2015


Watch Lisa’s latest TV interview

tvinterviewgraphic*

Q: Any news?

A:  Here’s a bit. For all the latest, find me on Facebook and Twitter.

Legacy Publishing offers new Lisa Wingate Collection greeting cards!
Each card features a quote from a Lisa Wingate book.
Each card sold buys a meal for a hungry child.
To buy cards online, click here
To find Legacy cards in a store near you, click here
Want your local shop or church store to carry the cards? Send them here

 

Q: Any exciting contests going on right now?

A:  Always!  Sign up for the Lisa Wingate email newsletter and you’ll be entered in a monthly drawing for an autograhped Lisa Wingate book!  Click here to sign up for the newsletter — No SPAM, we promise.

 

Q: How can I keep up with you and your books?

A:  In this busy cyber age, there are so many ways to keep in touch!  You can find me on Facebook, follow me on Twitter, or sign up for my email newsletter.  Find me at Pinterest.  I love keeping in touch with readers.  The best part of writing is watching stories do what they are meant to do–bring people together.

 

Q: Where can I find a full list of Lisa Wingate books and sample book chapters?

A:  For a full list of the books, in order by series, and sample chapters click here: For a printable PDF list, click here.

 

Q: How long have you been writing and many Lisa Wingate books are there?

A:  I’ve been writing all my life.  A special first-grade teacher made a writer out of me and I still have the report card with her note “I expect to see your name in a magazine one day.” Before We Were Yours is book number thirty!  For a full list, go to my Bookshelf Page.  You can also read sample chapters for the newest books by clicking on the covers on my Bookshelf Page.

 

Q: Will you phone chat with my book club or visit my book club, church, or organization for a speaking engagement?

A:  I love to chat with real people (as opposed to the imaginary kind) anytime schedules permit.  For information on speaking engagements and phone chats, check my Speaking Info Page.

 

Q: Do you ever worry that you’ll run out of stories?

A:  Quite the opposite. I’m such a collector that I needed a place to share them. Come visit to experience fascinating, mysterious, and unforgettable untold stories.

Untold Story Guru