Appearances

_____________________________________________________________________________

Book Tour for Before We Were Yours (Fall, 2017)

“Tour planned by Magic Time Literary Publicity”

August 29, 2017. 6:00 to 7:30. “Where Are the Children? Secrets of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society.” Wingate introduces her new book, Before We Were Yours. Location: Milton Library, 855 Mayfield Road, Milton, GA. Booktable and signing. Bookseller is Bookmiser, 4651 Sandy Plains Rd, Roswell. FMI and to order autographed books contact Annell Gerson, 770.993.1555. Milton, GA.

August 30, 11:30 mix & mingle, 12 to 1 lunch & discussion. “Where Are the Children? Secrets of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society.” Wingate introduces her new book, Before We Were Yours at a fried chicken luncheon. Elberton County Library, 345 Heard St, Booktable & Signing to follow. FMI Jan Burroughs, jburroughs@elbertcountypl.org). 706.283.5375. Avid Bookshop, (two locations in Athens, GA) is the bookseller. Elberton, GA

August 31, 10:30 registration & coffee, 11:00 presentation, luncheon following. “Where Are the Children? Secrets of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society.” Wingate introduces her new book, Before We Were Yours at a Sky Valley Literary Luncheon, 568 Sky Valley Way #1. FMI Betty, 706-746-5416 or706-746-2204 , bettylakelanier@aol.com. Sky Valley, GA.

September 1, 12:00. “Where Are the Children? Secrets of the Tennessee Children’s Home Society.” Lisa Wingate will introduce her recent release, Before We Were Yours, at a Books & Bites, light luncheon (by Friends of the Library) at the Macon County Public Library, 149 Siler Farm Road, Booktable by Books Unlimited, and booksigning to follow the talk. FMI 828.488.2382. Franklin, NC.

September 3, 2017, 2:30. The Lasting Impact of Family. Lisa Wingate and Stacia Pelletier discuss the topic and relate their new releases at the Decatur Book Festival. Location: Decatur City Hall, presented by City of Decatur.  Booksigning for Before We Were Yours. Decatur, GA.

September 5, 7 PM. Lisa discusses Before We Were Yours with a gathering of Book Clubs. Location: Waterford Pointe Clubhouse 210 Amenity Way (the house beside the clubhouse parking area). Desserts and beverages served. Booktable and signing. Sponsored by The Pointers Book Club of Lake Keowee.. FMI Janice (H.864.882.5997, C 864.710.6330. Fiction Addiction bookstore in Greenville is supplying books for the event (864.675.0540.) Seneca, SC.

September 6, 6 PM. Book club meeting. Members only.  Greenville, SC.

September 7, 12:00.  Wingate is the Featured Speaker for Scott Heath’s Wells Fargo clients luncheon. Location: Piedmont Club, 361 Main St. Booktable & Signing to follow. Contact Scott Heath,864-591-8727, scott.heath@wellsfargoadvisors.com Spartanburg, SC.

September 8, 12:30. Wingate is the keynote speaker for a fundraiser luncheon for C.A.S.T. (Care, Accept, Share, Teach), at the Country Club of Spartanburg, 2500 Country Club Road. Even is for the club membership. 864-431-1367 Spartanburg, SC.

September 9, 2017, 11:15 to 12:00. Bookmarks Book Festival in downtown Winston-Salem. Lisa joins Patti Callahan Henry and Kathleen Grissom in a discussion of Southern Fiction, including their recent releases. Booksigning for Before We Were Yours. Location: Milton Rhodes Center for the Arts, 251 N Spruce Street first floor. Free event. FMI http://www.bookmarksnc.org/festival-2017#ScheduleWeekend Winston-Salem, NC.

_____________________________________________________________________________

LATE FALL EVENTS

September 22, 1 PM.  At 1PM Lisa introduces Before We Were Yours at the West Texas Book Festival. Booksigning at 1:30. At 2 PM presenting a workshop on Writing your Family Stories Abilene Public Library 202 W. Cedar Street in the library auditorium. Abilene, TX.

PANAMA CITY, FLORIDA EVENTS OCTOBER 5 AND 6

October 5, 2017, Lisa Wingate at FSU Panama City Fall Festival of Readers and Writers. Cost is $30.00, $25.00 for senior citizens, and $5.00 for FSU Panama City students with Student ID. The ticket price includes a whole day of presentations for readers and writers. Email publicity@LisaWingate.com FMI about the program.

11:30-12:30. Luncheon Keynote, Lisa Wingate shares the true story that inspired her New York Times best selling novel, Before We Were Yours, which fictionalizes one of America’s most notorious scandals. For readers of The Nightingale and Orphan Train, Wingate’s novel tells the stories of the victims of Georgia Tann, the director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, which kidnapped the children of poor families and sold them in adoptions-for-profit to Hollywood celebrities and wealthy families all over the country from the 1920s through 1950. Location: Bland Conference Center, FSU Panama City Campus, Panama City, FL.

2:00-3:00: Story 101 with Lisa Wingate. New York Times Bestselling Author, Lisa Wingate, opens her writer’s tool kit and shares the secrets learned from a twenty-year career in the publishing industry. Whether your goal is to write for fun or for profit, preserve your personal history, or find creative ways to share your family stories, this hour of tips and Q&A is for you. Bland Conference Center, FSU Panama City Campus, Panama City, FL.

October 6, 12:00. Books ‘n Bites Luncheon with New York Times Bestselling author, Lisa Wingate discussing Before We Were Yours with booksigning to follow. Location: Bay County Library, 898 W. 11th Street, Panama City, FL. Sponsored by Friends of the Library. Free. Space is limited, so make your reservation now by calling 850.522.2100 or visit the library. Panama City, FL.

Fall, 2017 All Arkansas Reads Before We Were Yours. Sponsored by Arkansas Center for the Book. More information coming about the Arkansas tour to celebrate this program.  Little Rock, AR.

November 9, 2017, 9:00 AM – 5:30 PM EST. Lisa Wingate discusses Before We Were Yours at Random House Off the Page Event. Here is a rundown of the program: Literary icon Salman Rushdie discusses his new novel, THE GOLDEN HOUSE; bestselling memoirist Kelly Corrigan (The Middle Place; Glitter & Glue) explores twelve phrases that can make us better people; CNN commentator Van Jones proposes ways to find your voice in today’s cluttered political climate; Food52 co-founders Amanda Hesser and Merrill Stubbs offer advice about staying balanced and managing your time during the holidays; Lucy Kalanithi, widow of author Paul Kalanithi, shares how readers have connected to her husband’s posthumous #1 bestseller WHEN BREATH BECOMES AIR; and Gold Star parent and captivating DNC speaker Khizr Khan explains what it means to him to be an American alongside stories from his forthcoming memoir, AN AMERICAN FAMILY. Plus, discover your next read (or three!) at our fiction lovers panel featuring novelists Elizabeth Berg, Emily Ruskovich, and Lisa Wingate. Location: Tishman Auditorium, 63 5th Avenue,   FMI and tickets: https://www.eventbrite.com/e/off-the-page-tickets-35758594920?aff=Website. New York, NY.


_____________________________________________________________________________

Appearances, 2018

January 11-14, 2018.  Lisa will discuss Before We Were Yours at this annual conference for the Pulpwood Queens Book Clubs. All book clubs welcome to join and attend. Location:  It is always fun and an opportunity to meet many authors and others who love books. Location: Stephen F. Austin State University. Details pending.  Nacogdoches, Texas.

February 23 & 24. Southern Voices Festival, Hoover Library, 200 Municipal Dr. Hoover, AL Lisa is one of eight featured authors to speak in celebration of their books. Details pending. (205) 444-7800. Birmingham, AL.

March 2 &3, Book Mania, 2018. Panel discussing Historical Fiction: Lisa Wingate, Jamie ford Ford and Kate Quinn. Location: Jensen Beach High School, Performing Arts Center, 2875 Northwest Goldenrod Road, Jensen Beach, FL.

March 10 & 11. Lisa will be a featured speaker at Tucson Festival of Books. Presentation times and signing times to be determined. http://www.tucsonfestivalofbooks. org. Tucson, AZ.

Check back. Other events pending and details will be added when known.